Close Get Latest Internet Explorer Get Latest Firefox Get Latest Chrome


Eligibility requirements for weight loss surgery

Inova follows eligibility requirements for weight loss (bariatric) surgery established by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Individuals must have a body mass index (BMI) of 40 or greater. In the presence of additional health risks, also known as co-morbidities, you may be eligible for weight loss surgery with a BMI of 35 or greater. This translates to being at least 100 pounds overweight.
BMI Calculator

The presence of health risks, also called co-morbidities, include high cholesterol, high blood pressure, diabetes and sleep apnea, among others. All patients undergo a psychiatric exam to assure that they are emotionally able to work within the program guidelines after surgery.

BMI classifications

Classification  BMI  U.S. Population 
Overweight  > 25.0  60 percent
Obese (class I)  33.0 to 34.9  18 percent
Obese (class II)  35.0 to 39.9  
Clinically severe
obesity (class III)
 > 40.0      5 percent

Click to try our free online BMI calculator arrow