Skip to main content

8110 Gatehouse Road, Falls Church, VA 22042


Am I Eligible for Weight Loss Surgery?


Qualifications for Weight Loss Surgery

Inova follows eligibility requirements for weight loss (bariatric) surgery established by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Individuals must have a body mass index (BMI) of 40 or greater. In the presence of additional health risks, also known as co-morbidities, you may be eligible for weight loss surgery with a BMI of 35 or greater. This translates to being at least 100 pounds overweight.

The presence of health risks, also called co-morbidities, include high cholesterol, high blood pressure, diabetes and sleep apnea, among others. All patients undergo a psychiatric exam to assure that they are emotionally able to work within the program guidelines after surgery.

Body Mass Index (BMI) Classifications

Classification  BMI  U.S. Population 
Overweight  > 25.0  60 percent
Obese (class I)  33.0 to 34.9  18 percent
Obese (class II)  35.0 to 39.9  
Clinically severe
obesity (class III)
 > 40.0      5 percent

Try our free online BMI calculator

Body Mass Index Calculator

Rather than relying only on the bathroom scale to tell you if you're overweight, experts say you should also know your body mass index (BMI). BMI takes into account not just your weight, but also your height to indicate body fat. The goal for most people is a BMI that's over 18 and under 25. This tool is for adults. BMIs for children and teens use age, plus height and weight.

This calculator is not intended to replace the evaluation of a health care professional.