Administrative Staff

Surgery Residency Program Manager
Diann "Dee" Carreker

Surgery Residency Program Manager
Olivia Dohnalek

Surgery Fellowship Manager
Kelsey Nieves

Clerkship Coordinator
Farah Iskandar


The Department of Surgery currently includes more than 40 full-time faculty in the areas of trauma/critical care, transplant surgery, breast surgery, minimally invasive surgery, hepatobiliary surgery, head and neck surgery, surgical oncology, general surgery, vascular surgery, thoracic surgery and cardiac surgery.

There are also more than 30 volunteer faculty in the areas of general surgery, colorectal surgery, pediatric surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery.

In addition to rotation supervision, the faculty also provides the entire problem and case based curricula for the weekly protected education time for the residents. In addition to the SCORE program, multiple online curricula are also available to the residents as well as full 24-hour onsite and online library and literature search access. Other benefits offered to the residents include stipends for books, meals, surgical loupes and conference attendance.

Leadership Team

Jonathan Dort, MD, FACS

Vice Chairman for Education and Surgical Residency Program Director

Dina Tabello, DO

Associate Program Director

Gordon Hafner, MD, FACS

Section Chief, General Surgery
Associate Program Director

Sharon L. Bachman, MD, FACS

Director of Minimally Invasive Surgery
Director of Surgical Clerkship